Greece

For the first 4 nights of the trip, we stayed in Volos, a major port city where I attended a workshop on Information Theory. The following day, we took a bus to Kalambaka.

Natalie and I spent two days in Kalambaka hiking on Meteora, which might be the most amazing natural landform I’ve ever seen. Kalambaka is small town nestled up against some gigantic rock protrusions. Several of the rocks are topped with ancient (but still active) monasteries.

It’s a striking view and in fact one of the monasteries was used in the James Bond film, “For Your Eyes Only.” Here is a picture Natalie took of that monastery with me in it

DSCF5011

I can’t overstate how awesome Meteora was. I love mountains, views and nature. And I got it, for example, here is a mountainside meadow
DSCF5309
and the city of Kalambaka seen from an outcropping
DSCF5064

This was one of the best hikes of my life. Other pictures can be found here.

Leave a comment